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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

» Authority: November 18, 2009 —Governor David
Paterson signs Chapter 496 of the Laws of 2009 :

— Effective December 18, 2009-

— New Class E Felony Offense-Enhanced Penalties for Persons who
Operate a Motor Vehicle while Intoxicated with a Child passenger
under 16 years of age, with penalty of up to 4 years in state prison

— Also enhances penalties for driving while intoxicated and causing
the death or serious injury to any child (ren) passenger under 16
years of age. Operators convicted of Aggravated Vehicular
Assault (Class C Felony) and Aggravated Vehicular Homicide
(Class B Felony) offenses are subject to state imprisonment up to
15 and 25 years imprisonment, respectively.




Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

— Section 5 of Chapter 496 of the Child Passenger Protection Act or
Leandra’s Law

 Effective August 15, 2010

» Requires that persons convicted of having committed VVTL Section
1192 Misdemeanor or Felony DWI Offenses, on or after the date of
enactment, (November 18, 2009 ) and sentenced on or after August
15, 2010, be sentenced to a term of probation or conditional
discharge, in addition to any sentence of imprisonment or payment of
any fine imposed, and have an Ignition Interlock Device installed in
any motor vehicle they “own or operate”

Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

New York State joins 9 other states as “first offender states”
implementing statewide mandatory use of Ignition Interlock
Devices including Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Hawaii, Louisiana,
Nebraska, New Mexico, Utah and Washington.

Illinois and Arkansas have implemented non-mandatory programs
California has implemented a limited pilot program

Alcohol Ignition Interlocks are a proven tool to effectively reduce
impaired driving, protect the public and support long-term risk
reduction among drunk drivers according to a study by The Traffic
Injury Research Foundation, February 2010
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

Which agency is statutorily authorized to lead? Chapter 496 of the
Laws of 2009, Section 4 (g)

§ 4. Subdivision 1 of section 1193 of the vehicle and traffic law is
amended by adding a new paragraph (g) to read as follows:
(g) The division of probation and correctional alternatives shall
promulgate regulations governing the monitoring of compliance by persons
ordered to install and maintain ignition interlock devices to provide
standards for monitoring by departments of probation, and options for
monitoring of compliance by such persons, that counties may adopt as an
alternative to monitoring by a department of probation.

Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

Statutory provision and requirement to address
“unaffordability”

Chapter 496 Section 5

(a) The cost of installing and maintaining the ignition interlock
device shall be borne by the person subject to such condition unless the
court determines such person is financially unable to afford such cost
whereupon such cost may be imposed pursuant to a payment plan or waived.
In_the event of such waiver, the cost of the device shall be borne in
accordance with regulations issued under paragraph (g) of subdivision
one of section eleven hundred ninety-three of this article or pursuant

to such other agreement as may be entered into for provision of the
device.
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

Who are the stakeholders?

— Governor, Legislature, Judiciary

— Counties/Agencies—Probation, STOP-DWI, DDP, TASC, etc.
— Prosecutors and Defense Counsel

— Law Enforcement-NYSP, Sheriffs, Police

— Statewide Associations—NYSAC, STOP-DW!I Coordinators,
— NYS Drinking Driver Programs, Traffic Safety Programs

— State Agencies—Governor’s Counsel, DOH, DMV, OGS, OSC,
OAG, OASAS, DCJS, Parole, DOCS, DOB

— ITSMR-Institute for Traffic Safety Management and Research
— Ignition Interlock Device Manufacturers
— Motor Vehicle Operators and the Public

Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

» DPCA Promulgated Statewide Emergency Regulations

— DPCA promulgated Statewide Emergency Regulations on April
23,2010 as Part 358 of 9 NYCRR; and again on July 21, 2010

— Formal Rulemaking pursuant to the Statewide Administrative
Procedure Act (SAPA) has also commenced.

— DPCA involved all state and local stakeholders in the development
and review of multiple drafts of the regulations.

— Draft regulations shared with governors counsel, legislature,
judiciary, state agencies (DMV, SCOC, DOCS, Parole, DCJS,
OASAS) counties/probation departments, prosecutors, defense
counsel, NYSAC, county executives and managers, stop-dwi and
drinking driver programs, ignition interlock manufacturers, etc.
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

* What

are the 9 essential components of implementation?
Establish Workgroup (December 2010)

Promulgate Emergency Regulations (April 23, 2010)
Request for Applications by Manufacturers (May 12, 2010)
Contract Development and Execution—(July 15, 2010)
County Plans (Submission Deadline 6/15/10)

Promulgate Statewide Forms (June 3, 2010)

Statewide Training—NYPTI, Magistrates, Judicial Webinar,
Law Enforcement

Statewide Public Education and Media Campaign
Strong Leadership

Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

» Request for Manufacturer Applications
— Manufacturers Roundtable Held March 8, 2010

- Req

uest for Applications —Proposals Returnable May 12, 2020

7 manufacturers submit applications to be considered as “qualified” to
do business on and after August 15, 2010

service availability —available to all DWI operators within 50 miles
compliance with regulations (DPCA Part 358 of and DOH Part 59)
intent to service 1-4 regions within NYS—regional approach attracts
multiple vendors and new vendors, ensuring a quality product and
service at a competitive price (affordability)

Set initial fee/charge structure ceiling —competition drives pricing
Qualified Manufacturers must provide Court ordered “payment plan” or
11D’s to operators deemed unable to afford them —assume 10%
statewide “unaffordability” rate (not indigency)
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

DPCA Regulations require manufacturer 11D specifications:
» 11D set point of .025% BAC
e Start-Up Test: if failure--a Start-Up Retest within 5-15 minutes (continues)

o Start-Up Test: if successful--Initial Rolling Test within a random variable
interval ranging from 5-15 mins. If Rolling Test successful: subsequent
Rolling Tests at random intervals not to exceed 30 mins. If unsuccessful
(failed or missed Rolling Test): Rolling Retest promptly within 1-3 minutes.
Failed or missed Rolling Retest causes vehicle horn to sound & and 11D to
emit high pitch shrill prompting operator to pull over and shut off vehicle.

« 11D lockout mode: one failed or missed “start-up retest”, one failed or missed
“rolling retest” within one service period, or one missed service visit.
Operator must return to service center for data download and 11D reset within
5 business days or the motor vehicle becomes inoperable (will not start)

e All events, including failed start-up tests, failed rolling tests are recorded and
reported to monitors. Lockout mode: monitors must report to DA and Court.
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DPCA regulations require counties (and the NYC) to submit
implementation plans by June 15, 2010
«  Designate monitoring agency for CD cases (default is probation)

*  Acknowledge agreement with statewide regulations: monitoring agencies for
CD cases to determine Class of Instrument; probation to determine Class and
features; and operators to select model and manufacturer of 11D

e Procedure for equitable distribution of “waived” I1D units

e Procedure for distribution of any available funding to support monitoring

e Procedure for Court notification to monitoring agencies within 5 business
days

»  Procedure for advanced notification of operators released from incarceration

e Procedure for monitors to report failed tasks/tests/lockouts to DA and Courts

12
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

DPCA Regulations requirements for monitoring:

Monitor shall receive court notification of order for 11D within 5 business days

Installation/service provider shall install within 7 business days of request—
Operators required to have 11D installed w/in 10 business days of Court Order
Operator shall provide proof of installation within 3 business days to Court,
County Probation Department and any designated monitor

Operator shall submit to service visits within 30 calendar days. For
detachable handheld units, submit to 30-day visits, followed by 60-day visits
Monitor shall notify the appropriate court and district attorney, within 3
business days of following: 1) operator failure to install IDD, 2) operator has
not complied with required service visit, 3) any report of alleged tampering or
circumvention of IDD, or 4) any report of lockout mode, and/or any report of a
failed test or retest where BAC is .05% or higher
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Metrics--DWI Convictions in New York State

2008 Data
— 65,000 arrests for DWI
— 25,000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)
— 20,000 result in violations (DWAI)

—25,000 convictions (felony and misdemeanor)
9,000 (40%) sentenced to probation
16,000 (60%) other dispositions including prison (300-400), jail
and large majority pay fine
-- 50-70% of first-time offenders do not return
--30% are second and repeat offenders.

14
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

* 25,000 convictions

— Nationally, fewer than 10% (7-8%) of operators required to have
ignition interlock devices installed on their vehicles ever violate.

— Ignition Interlock Technology is invasive, sensitive and effective—
it works and so.... let the technology work!

— Important to distinguish probation and non-probation (CD) cases
and to manage them differently (do not “widen the net”)

— Impact Example: Orange County—=829 DWI Convictions in 2008

o 211 (24%) sentenced to probation/102 felonies & 109 misdemeanors—21
offenders will violate

* 618 (66%) jail, prison or fine—majority paid fine will be granted conditional
discharge and monitored—61 offenders will violate
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

* Issues for Counties—Costs of Monitoring and Supervision

» DPCA has submitted a statewide grant application in an
amount up to $3 million to the Governor’s Traffic Safety
Committee (GTSC)—Start Date 10/1/10 (federal fiscal year)

« |If awarded, funds will be distributed to counties and the City of
New York based on their percentage of 2008 DW!I convictions

» Grant term: October 1, 2010-Sept. 30, 2011
 Federal Funds regarded as seed money and not sustaining
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Multiple Manufacturers to serve 25,000 offenders

NYS divided into four (4) regions (consistent with COPA) to
ensure that the service is available to all localities (avoid “cherry-
picking”) and regulations require installation sites within 50 miles

Manufacturers may request to be qualified by DPCA to do
business in 1,2, 3 or all 4 regions, provided they meet DPCA,
DOH regulations and the 50-mile service requirement

This approach will spur statewide competition ensuring quality
product and service at a competitive price

Operators will shop manufacturer (model) but probation and
monitoring agencies will determine the class of ignition interlock
device and probation will determine class and features

18
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Implementing Leandra’s Law in New York State

Regions of New York State for 11D Service Operation. New York State has been
divided into four regions for the provision of ignition interlock services. A
qualified manufacturer designated to conduct business in a given region must
provide interlock services to every county in the region. Counties included in each
of the four regions are as follows:

Region 1: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Erie, Genesee,
Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne,
Wyoming, and Yates;

Region 2: Broome, Chenango, Clinton, Cortland, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Hamilton,
Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, St. Lawrence, Tioga,
and Tompkins;

Region 3: Albany, Columbia, Delaware, Dutchess, Greene, Montgomery, Orange,
Otsego, Putnam, Rensselaer, Rockland, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Sullivan,
Ulster, Warren, and Washington; and

Region 4: Bronx, Kings, Nassau, New York, Queens, Richmond, Suffolk, and
Westchester.
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The New York State Division of Probation and Correctional Alternatives
classifies all certified ignition interlock devices into categories based upon
features of the devices. This classification system and subsequent device
classification is subject to change by the Division as new information becomes
available. The Division will classify ignition interlock devices utilizing the
following system:

CLASS I: This CLASS contains the following features:

— Meets all New York State Department of Health and National
Highway Traffic Safety Administration Regulations and
Standards, Utilizes fuel cell technology,

Reporting capabilities, Capabilities for storage of data, Programmable Re-Test
Sequences, Data download, inspection and re-calibration service, and

Anti-tampering and anti-circumvention features.

20
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CLASS Il: This CLASS has all the features of CLASS | and contains the
following additional features:

Photographic positive identification capability (camera or biometric facial
recognition).

CLASS I1I: This CLASS has all the features of CLASSES | and Il and
contains one or more of the following additional features:

GPS location of vehicle capability, Real time data reporting, Infra-red or other
low-light camera capability for night use, Hum Tone Detection, Infra-red
sensor that detects heat and proximity to verify human breath, Keys enabling
service codes to be entered, Early recall system if a fuel cell fails-uses split cell
technology, Restricted drive time capabilities, Unlock code to minimize
towing due to lockouts, Voice instruction, Probation/Judicial Internet Access
for Real-Time Monitoring 24/7, 911 Emergency Response, target tracking,
subject must be in photo to take test.

New York State
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Matching operator with Class of Ignition Interlock Device

« Distinguish first time convicted offender from repeat
offender and conditional discharges and probation cases

25,000 convictions>>>>9,000 probation cases

 Utilizing all classes of instruments will lower cost to
operator, increase affordability and decrease need for
payment plans and consideration of waived costs

» Consider monitoring costs associated with real time
reporting and resources required for real time response
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» “Unaffordability” v. Indigency

— DPCA strives to provide best information to Judges and develops
statewide Financial Disclosure Report available at
www.dpca.state.ny.us

— Applicant required to complete and submit three copies to court

— FDR Form captures offender’s income, assets and expenses,
including monthly service for cell phone, cable/satellite television

— Affordability, Payment Plan, Waiver Considerations

— Manufacturers required to comply with Court authorized payment
plan or waiver

— Manufacturers agreements with NYS-DPCA assume a maximum of
10% statewide rate of “unaffordability” before renegotiation is
considered—discuss experiences in other states

24
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* Issues for Counties—Payment Plans and Judicial Waivers
“unaffordability”
— Cost will be borne by drunk drivers and not taxpayers and localities

— Statute provides for “payment plans” judicially “waived” fees and
costs for 11D’s for operators determined by sentencing courts unable
to afford the cost. This is not “legal indigency”

— Monthly lease fee equates to “gallon of gasoline a day”.....

— DPCA will regularly monitor “unaffordability” determinations,
number and percent of waiver units ordered and provide
opportunity for manufacturers to adjust pricing

— Use of statewide FDR is an important training issue

25

Robert M. Maccarone
Deputy Commissioner of the NYS DCJS and
Director of the Office of Probation and Correctional Alternatives

Office of Probation and Correctional Alternatives
518-485-2394

Robert.Maccarone@dpca.state.ny.us

Thank You! Questions

26

8/9/2010

13



