The Police Officer of the Year Award

The Police Officer of the Year Award provides statewide recognition of the police officer or officers who have demonstrated exceptional valor in service to the people of New York State, thereby upholding the highest traditions of law enforcement.

2013 Recipients – Suffolk County Police Sgt. Christopher Prokesch, Sgt. Ryan Sefton and Officer John Klein

Sgts. Prokesch and Sefton and Officer Klein were recognized for their response to a call of shots fired, which resulted in them confronting a man wielding a semiautomatic rifle in the hamlet of Shirley in June 2013. The three officers ensured the safety of residents and their law enforcement colleagues during the incident.