Security Guard Training Requirements

Frequently Asked Questions

1. What training courses are required to be employed as a security guard?

New York State General Business Law Article 7-A, section 89-n requires security guard applicants and/or security guards to complete the following training courses:

*8 Hour Pre-Assignment Training Course for Security Guards

This is an 8 hour course required by New York State as the first step in obtaining a security guard registration card from the New York State Department of State. The course provides the student with a general overview of the duties and responsibilities of a security guard. Topics covered in this course include the role of the security guard, legal powers and limitations, emergency situations, communications and public relations, access control, and ethics and conduct. The passing of an examination is required for successful completion of this course.

16 Hour On-the- Job Training Course for Security Guards

This is a 16 hour course that must be completed within 90 days of employment as a security guard. The course provides the student with detailed information on the duties and responsibilities a security guard. Topics covered in this course include the role of the security guard, legal powers and limitations, emergency situations, communications and public relations, access control, ethics and conduct, incident command system, and terrorism. The passing of an examination is required for successful completion of this course.

8 Hour Annual In-Service Training Course for Security Guards

This is an 8 hour course that must be completed within 12 calendar months from completion of the 16 Hour On-the-Job Training Course for Security Guards, and annually thereafter. The course is structured to provide the student with updated and enhanced information on the duties and responsibilities of a security guard. Topics include the role of the security guard, legal powers and limitations, emergency situations, communications and public relations, access control, and ethics and conduct.

*47 Hour Firearms Training Course for Armed Security Guards

This is a 47 hour course required by New York State as the first step in obtaining a special armed guard registration card from the New York State Department of State. To attend the course students must possess a valid pistol license pursuant to NY Penal Law Section 400.00 and a valid NYS security guard registration card. The course consists of 7 hours of NYS Penal Law Article 35 (Use of Force/Deadly Physical Force) and 40 hours of range instruction and qualification. To successfully complete the course the student must pass a written examination on Article 35 and qualify with a handgun.

8 Hour Annual Firearms Training Course for Armed Guards

This is an 8 hour course that must be completed within 12 calendar months from completion of the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course for Armed Guards, and annually thereafter. To attend the course students must possess a valid pistol license pursuant to NY Penal Law Section 400.00 and a valid NYS security guard registration card. The course consists of 3 hours of NYS Penal Law Article 35 (Use of Force/Deadly Physical Force) and 5 hours of range instruction and qualification. To successfully complete the course the student must pass a written examination on Article 35 and qualify with a handgun.

*Security guards or security guard applicants need only complete this course once.

2. Who may provide New York State required security guard training?

Only a New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services (DCJS) approved security guard training school may provide required New York State security guard training.

DCJS approves entities as security guard training schools when they have met specific criteria. Training courses offered by these schools must meet minimum standards set forth in rules and regulations. DCJS only approves security guard training schools to provide security guard training required by NYS General Business Law Article 7-A, section 89-n. These required security guard training courses are listed in question #1. Only the courses listed in question #1 are under the jurisdiction of DCJS.
Individuals teaching New York State required security guard training courses must be DCJS certified instructors.

DCJS certifies individuals as security guard instructors and armed security guard instructors when they have met minimum requirements set forth in rules and regulations.

3. Must I complete the 8 Hour Pre-Assignment Training Course and the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course for Armed Security Guards more than once?

These courses need only be taken one time. However, a new employer could require you to retake these courses. Requiring the retaking of these courses should be dictated by the new employer, not a security guard training school.

4. When do I have to complete the 16 Hour On-the-Job Training Course?

The 16 Hour On-the-Job Training Course is required for all security guards in New York State and must be completed within 90 days of being employed as a security guard. This course is designed to be taken after an individual is employed as a security guard since the training is to occur while on-the-job and is specific to the individual’s job duties and assignments.

5. A security guard training school is offering a “package” of training courses, including the 8 Hour Pre-Assignment Training Course, the 16 Hour On-the-Job Training Course, and the 8 Hour Annual In-Service Course for one price. Should I purchase this “package”?

No. The 8 Hour Pre-Assignment Training Course is a general course designed to be taken to obtain a NYS security guard registration card. Most individuals complete this course prior to employment. The 16 Hour On-the-Job Training Course is intended for employed individuals working in a specific security environment, and the 8 Hour Annual In- Service training Course must be completed within 12 calendar months from completion of the 16 Hour On-the-Job Training Course for Security Guards, and annually thereafter.

6. I have completed the 8 Hour Pre-Assignment Training Course, but a security guard training school is telling me that I must complete additional training (for example, metal detection training, terrorism training, fire guard training, CPR, homeland security training etc.) to obtain a New York State security guard registration card, or to obtain a higher level security guard registration card. Must I complete these courses to become a registered guard or to obtain a higher level security guard registration card?

No. In New York State (NYS) an individual can only apply for a security guard, special armed guard, or armored car guard registration card. There is NO other designation or levels of security guards in NYS. An individual is either registered as a security guard, special armed guard, or armored car guard. The 8 Hour Pre-Assignment Training Course is the only course required to obtain a New York State security guard registration card. To obtain a special armed guard registration card, the completion of the 8 Hour Pre-Assignment and 47 Hour Firearms Training Courses is required before applying to the NYS Department of State.

7. A school is telling me that I need or should take some additional courses. Is that true?

NYS General Business Law Article 7-A, Section 89-n (Training Requirements) requires the completion of only five (5) training courses (those listed in question #1). An individual seeking a security guard registration card must first complete the 8 Hour Pre-Assignment Training Course. Once employed, completion of the 16 Hour On-the-Job Training Course must be completed within 90 days of hire. The 8 Hour Annual In-Service Training Course must be completed within 12 calendar months from completion of the 16 Hour On-the-Job Training Course for Security Guards, and annually thereafter. An individual seeking an armed security guard registration card must also complete the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course and then the 8 Hour Annual Firearms Training Course on an annual basis. (refer to question #1 as to when these courses should be completed). You should carefully research what courses you are required to complete and when they must be completed. You should also weigh the benefits of completing additional security guard training courses not required by law.

8. A security guard school located in New York City is telling me I need to complete fireguard training, is this true?

As noted in question #6, fireguard training is not required by NYS General Business Law Article 7-A, section 89-n, to obtain a NYS security guard registration card. It is also important to note that there is a difference between a security guard and a fireguard. In NYC, individuals must have a Certificate of Fitness issued by the NYC Fire Department to obtain employment as fireguards.

There are a number of security guard training schools that offer fireguard training and/or fireguard preparation courses. You must be aware that you are not employable as a fireguard by completing these courses. You must first take and pass the NYC Fire Department Certificate of Fitness examination.

Information about the fireguard Certificate of Fitness Examination and study materials can be accessed at: http://www.nyc.gov/html/fdny.

9. How much does the training cost?

Security guard training schools establish their own fees for the courses they offer. There is no regulatory oversight for fees associated with security guard training required by NYS General Business Law Article 7-A, section 89-n.

10. What should I do if I have a dispute over fees charged?

Disputes over fees and other consumer issues should be referred to your local consumer affairs agency, Better Business Bureau or other similar organization that is responsible for responding to these issues.

11. A security guard training school says they can help me find a job or have a job for me if I complete their training courses.

You should THOROUGHLY SCRUTINIZE any promises or guarantees of job placement by security guard training schools or others before you sign a contract or pay a sum of money. You may contact DCJS if you have questions or concerns about promises or guarantees being made by a security guard training school(s).

12. What does the school give me when I complete a course?

Security guard training schools are required to issue a DCJS approved certificate of completion to students who successfully complete required security guard training courses according to New York State Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations (NYCRR) Part 6027.12(c).

13. What is a Student Advisory Notice?

Approved security guard training schools are required to provide students attending one of the five courses listed in question #1 with a copy of the DCJS Student Advisory Notice. The Notice outlines several conditions of the training program that will affect them immediately and in the future. Through this Notice, the school is advising the student of these conditions. A copy may be accessed by clicking on the following link:

http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/ops/docs/index.htm

14. How can I find a school to obtain required security guard training?

DCJS maintains a list of security guard training schools approved to provide security guard training courses required by NYS General Business Law Article 7-A, section 89-n. It may be accessed by clicking on the following link:

http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/ops/docs/sgtraining/pubs/sgpapprovedschls.pdf

15. Do I need a pistol license to attend the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course for Armed Security Guards?

Individuals must possess a valid pistol license pursuant to Penal Law Section 400.00 and a valid security guard registration card to attend the 47 Hour Firearms Training Course for Armed Security Guards. A valid pistol license and security guard registration card is also required to attend the 8 Hour Annual Firearms Training Course for Armed Security Guards.

16. Can I get a security guard registration card if I have a criminal record?

NYS Department of State, Division of Licensing Services is responsible for the registration of security guards. All questions concerning the registration of security guards must be directed to that office at (518) 474-7569. Information on the registration process can also be accessed at:

http://www.dos.ny.gov/licensing/securityguard/sguard.html

17. Do I have to complete required security guard training if I have previous law enforcement training?

New York State General Business Law Article 7-A, section 89-n, provides for various exemptions of security guard training requirements based on employment and completed Municipal Police Training Council approved law enforcement training. A matrix outlining these exemptions can be viewed by clicking on the following link: http://wwwdev:84/ops/sgtraining/index.htm

18. Where can I obtain additional information on the requirements for security guard training schools and required training?

Requirements for schools and training courses may be found in 9 NYCRR Parts 6027 and 6028. Click on the following link to review these regulations: http://wwwdev:84/ops/docs/sgtraining/forms/newsgschool/laws-rules-and-regulations.pdf

19. What should I do if I have an issue with a security guard training school?

Contact the:

New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services
Office of Public Safety
Security Guard Program
Alfred E. Smith Building
80 South Swan St.
Albany, New York 12210
(518) 457-4135
August 2011

20. I received a letter from the NYS Department of State - Division of Licensing Services (DOS) stating my security guard registration cannot be issued because DOS records do not show completion of a course or courses.  What do I do now?

DOS records very closely mirror the DCJS security guard training database.  Please allow up to three weeks for a training event to be recorded with DOS.  To obtain a copy of your security guard training record from DCJS, go to: http://www.criminaljustice.ny.gov/ops/staff/index.htm

Security Guard Training Certificates are issued by training schools. Without a record of a training event submitted to DCJS by the school, certificates by themselves do not serve as proof of completed training.

Because DOS training records so closely mirror those of DCJS, most issues will need to be- resolved by the student contacting the security guard school that provided the training.  DCJS will amend training records only after Security Guard School Directors provide required documentation directly to DCJS.  A current list of Approved Security Guard Schools, with telephone numbers, is located under Question 14.  This list will also provide the date that certain security guard schools were revoked. Training conducted after a school was revoked will not be recorded by DCJS.

If the training school refuses to assist in the rectifying of training records, send your name, date of birth, course name(s), course date(s), school name, and the person you spoke to at the school to dcjsopssecurityguard@dcjs.ny.gov.

DCJS will forward your email directly to the school director requesting assistance in the matter.

Unfortunately, if the security guard school you attended training at is no longer in business and has not submitted required records to DCJS, you will need to take the training again.

Questions regarding what courses and time frames are required for licensing based on specific personal circumstances can only be answered by DOS.  DOS may be contacted at (518) 474-7569.

ONLY THE DEPARTMENT OF STATE CAN DETERMINE WHAT COURSES ARE REQUIRED FOR SECURITY GUARD REGISTRATION RENEWAL