Division of Criminal Justice Services

Forensic Laboratory Accreditation

The Commission on Forensic Science and the DNA Subcommittee were established by Article 49-B of the Executive Law. The Commission is empowered to develop minimum standards and a program of accreditation for all public forensic laboratories in New York State. Accreditation of a forensic DNA laboratory is granted through the DNA Subcommittee. The Subcommittee also advises the Commission on any matter related to the implementation of scientific controls and quality assurance procedures for the performance of forensic DNA analysis.

The Office of Forensic Services monitors forensic laboratories’ compliance with accreditation standards established by the NYS Commission on Forensic Science. The laboratories must demonstrate compliance with the standards of the American Society of Crime Laboratory Directors/Laboratory Accreditation Board (ASCLD/LAB), the American Board of Forensic Toxicology (ABFT), and/or the Quality Assurance Standards for Forensic DNA Testing Laboratories published by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) in connection with DNA laboratory accreditation and the NYS DNA Databank.

New York State (NYS) Public Forensic Laboratories
Accredited by the NYS Commission on Forensic Science:

  1. Erie County Department of Central Police Services Forensic Laboratory
  2. Erie County Medical Examiner’s Office Forensic Toxicology Laboratory
  3. Monroe County Public Safety Laboratory
  4. Monroe County Office of the Medical Examiner Forensic Toxicology Laboratory
  5. Nassau County Office of the Medical Examiner Toxicology Laboratory
  6. Nassau County Division of Forensic Sciences Laboratory
  7. New York City Police Department Police Laboratory
  8. New York City Office of the Chief Medical Examiner Department of Forensic Biology
  9. New York City Office of the Chief Medical Examiner Forensic Toxicology Laboratory
  10. New York State Police Crime Laboratory
    1. NYSP Mid-Hudson Satellite Facility
    2. NYSP Southern Tier Satellite Facility
    3. NYSP Western Satellite Facility
  11. Niagara County Sheriff’s Department Forensic Laboratory
  12. Onondaga County Center for Forensic Sciences
  13. Onondaga County Health Department Forensic Toxicology Laboratory
  14. Suffolk County Crime Laboratory
  15. Suffolk County Office of Chief Medical Examiner Toxicology Laboratory
  16. Westchester County Department of Laboratories and Research - Division of Forensic Sciences
  17. Westchester County Department of Laboratories & Research, Division of Forensic Toxicology
  18. Westchester County Department of Public Safety Crime Laboratory
  19. Yonkers Police Department Forensic Science Laboratory

Annual reporting requirements and forms:

New York State Laboratory Workload Survey